WELCOME TO PAPUA NEW GUINEA !

The name is far too long, and the country lies in the shadow of its imposing Australian neighbour, Papua New Guinea remains to this day a destination that is clearly off the beaten track, in spite of its wonderful potential. This land, where over 800 languages are spoken, remains a land of permanent contrasts, wild beauty, combining deep jungle-covered mountains and white sandy beaches surrounded by one of the most beautiful seabeds in the world…
Until the mid 20th century, its deep valleys housed a people who lived, cut off from the outside world, in complex societies, with fascinating rituals. Its geographic isolation has produced an exceptional flora and fauna, including birds of paradise and thousands of orchids.
Coming to PNG to go back to the 'stone age' would be an understandable mistake, there being so many legends about the people and lands of this country. Since its discovery in the 16th century, New Guinea has aroused doubts and fantasies. Isolated peoples, cannibalism, lack of hierarchy... : so many features, about which the Westerners have extraordinarily prejudiced ideas...

However, Failing the encounter with "heads cutters' or forgotten tribes, visitors to this country will meet a people that has remained such a long way from the world that today it is delighted to welcome people, and happy to share a flamboyant culture. Come to Papua, It is an opportunity to discover the art of body adorning pushed to the extreme, with powerful songs and intoxicating scents. It is an unforgettable adventure into the "land of the unexpected"., where nothing ever happens according to plan but where everything ends with a smile. It is also the discovery of, small villages with thatched roofs, a traditional lifestyle that has held on right into the 21st century... For nature lovers, PNG offers among other things the third pristine tropical forest in the world, and the largest and most diverse mangrove in the world. One finds in Papua New Guinea most birds of paradise species and tree kangaroos, the largest pigeon, the smallest parrot and the largest lizard, the most spectacular coral reefs in the world ! Whao!... It is necessary therefore to overcome one's prejudices and come and discover all the secrets this long forgotten has to offer.

BIENVENUE EN PAPOUASIE NOUVELLE-GUINÉE !

Cachée derrière un nom bien trop long, à l’ombre de son imposant voisin australien, la Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée reste à l’écart des sentiers touristiques, malgré un potentiel hors-norme. Ce “Pays aux mille cultures”, où cohabitent plus de 800 langues, demeure une terre de contrastes permanents, à la beauté sauvage, où se côtoient montagnes acérées couvertes de jungle profonde et plages de sable blanc entourées des plus beaux fonds marins du monde…
Jusqu’au milieu du 20ème siècle, ses profondes vallées ont abrité un peuple qui a développé loin du monde une société complexe, aux rituels fascinants. Son isolement géographique a produit une faune et une flore exceptionnelles, dont les oiseaux de Paradis et les milliers d’orchidées sont les fiers représentants.
Venir en Papouasie pour retrouver des peuples de « l’âge de pierre » serait une erreur, bien compréhensible tant sont nombreuses les légendes qui circulent encore sur ce pays. Dès sa découverte au 16ème siècle, la Nouvelle-Guinée a suscité interrogations et fantasmes. Peuples isolés, cannibalisme, absence de hiérarchie… : autant de particularités, sur lesquelles au fil du temps les Occidentaux ont collé des préjugés bien souvent farfelus…

Mais, faute de trouver aujourd’hui des « coupeurs de têtes » ou des « tribus oubliées », le visiteur rencontrera un peuple resté si longtemps à l’écart du monde qu’il accueille aujourd’hui l’étranger à bras ouverts, heureux de partager une culture flamboyante. Venir en Papouasie, c’est découvrir un art de la parure corporelle poussé à son paroxysme, accompagné de chants puissants et d’odeurs enivrantes. C’est s’offrir une aventure forcément inoubliable au « pays de l’inattendu », où rien ne se passe jamais comme prévu mais où tout finit par un sourire. C’est aussi découvrir, dans de petits villages aux toits de chaume, la vie traditionnelle qui perdure au milieu des changements apportés par le 21ème siècle… Pour les passionnés de nature, la Papouasie propose entre autres à ses visiteurs la troisième forêt tropicale intacte au monde, ainsi que la plus grande et la plus variée des mangroves mondiales. On y trouve la plupart des espèces d’oiseaux de Paradis et de kangourous des arbres, le plus gros pigeon, le plus petit perroquet et le plus gros lézard, les barrières de corail parmi les plus diverses de la planète ! Ouf… Il faut donc dépasser ses préjugés et venir découvrir tous les secrets de ce pays trop longtemps oublié.