Port Moresby
The capital of Papua New Guinea is oriented more towards Australia than to its own country, although one still finds all the ethnic groups in the city. It is the only point of access by air into the country, an essential crossing point, justifying a visit of at least half a day, or even longer. The National Museum and the orchid gardens of orchids are well worth a visit ! The traditional villages in the surrounding area are also interesting jaunts if one wants to get out of town.
Advised length of stay : from 1/2 day to 1 day and a half.
Highlights : a rapidly changing economic capital, ethnic make-up, Museum, orchid garden.

 

Madang
Sited on the ocean coastline, the peaceful town of Madang is an place to relax in Papua New Guinea with attractive excursions to neighbouring islands and/or villages of traditional potters. It is also a place renowned for the quality of its seabed.
Advised length of stay : from 1 to 3 days.
Highlights: peacefulness, Islands nearby, Manam volcano...

 

Lae
There are several attractions in the largest port in the country, particularly in terms of wildlife. For example, between December and March, one can watch the nesting of the leatherback turtles. It is also from here that one leaves for expeditions to more challenging and isolated regions such as Aseki or Menyamya.
Advised length of stay : between 1 and 3 days.
Highlights : the country's largest sea port, expedition departures, fauna and flora, leatherback turtle nesting place.

Port Moresby
La capitale du pays fait face à l’Australie plutôt qu’à son pays, mais regroupe toutes les ethnies. Unique point d’accès aérien du pays, elle est un point de passage obligé, et justifie au moins une demi-journée de visite, voire plus. Le musée national et les jardins d’orchidées ne doivent pas être manqués ! Les villages traditionnels des environs représentent également des escapades intéressantes.
Séjour conseillé : de 1/2 journée à 1 jour et demi.
Points forts : capitale économique en pleine mutation, mélange ethnique, musée, orchidées.

 

Madang
En bord d’océan, la paisible Madang est un lieu de repos idéal en Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée et propose des excursions attractives dans les îles voisines ou dans des villages de potiers traditionnels. C’est par ailleurs un lieu réputé pour ses fonds marins.
Séjour conseillé : de 1 à 3 jours.
Points forts: calme, îles alentours, volcan Manam…

 

Lae
Le plus important port du pays bénéficie de quelques attractions intéressantes, notamment en terme de faune. Par exemple, entre décembre et mars, on pourra assister à la ponte des tortues Luth. Elle est également le point de départ d’expéditions plus engagées vers des régions isolées comme Aseki ou Menyamya.
Séjour conseillé : entre 1 et 3 jours.
Points forts : principal port du pays, départ d’expéditions, faune et flore, ponte des tortues Luth.