equipeFounded in 2012, the agency Travel in Papua New Guinea is the fruit of extensive reconnaissance and travel in the country, creating trips and tours guided by Philippe Gigliotti since 1997.
Philippe started developing local structures, "receptive"., so that he could then develop his own tours and activities, organizing trips that were then sold by French tour operators.
Quickly, in order to meet increasingly diverse expectations, we started building up an extensive network of partners, friends and collaborators specialized in : bird watching, diving, seaside...
Following the increasing number of requests for a la carte travel, we decided to create a structure in France that would directly support these tailor-made trips.
Travel in Papua New Guinea remains a small agency, managed primarily by Fily and Philippe Gigliotti. In addition to the two founders, the agency team now inlcudes 4 additional persons, including 3 PNGeans guides and a French-speaking guide. Not to mention of course our many local partners, guides, drivers, hoteliers, carriers...

Imprint

Gigliotti Services,
173, Rue Carnot
38730 Virieu on Bourbre
SARL with a capital of 7500 EUR
RC Vienna 539 328 708
Travel agents registry : IM038120013
Hiscox insurance : RCP0224467
Warranty APS
Intra-Community TVA : FR 43 539 328 708
Managers: Fily and Philippe Gigliotti.

Founded by a Frenchman whose heart lies in Papua New Guinea, Travel in Papua New Guinea offers a discovery of Papua New Guinea that takes the visitor closer to the New Guineans, through journeys where village immersion is essential, where the traveller is immersed into the culture of his/her hosts, where the journey adapts to local life.
The first trips, organized on the basis of Philippe's personal experience and friendships, hardly ever used hotels, remaing as close as possible to the local populations, Homestays. While remaining as faithful as possible to this concept, the offer has since been enlarged : trips have become more 'comfortable '., more 'organised', but also more varied.
But the most important thing is for our hosts' traditional knowledge to remain the highlight of our stays, the richness of their culture and the warmth of PNG society.
Our philosophy : to offer real encounters with the people, beyond the exotic image of the Papuans, and enable them to benefit directly from our visit.
All our trips take you to places we know well, where we know people, friends, places we have fallen in love with, in order to offer you a personal discovery of Papua New Guinea, the way we like it !

 

François and Jacqueline Laplace (Saint Herblain): Island hopping - November 2012

Second trip to Papua New Guinea to explore the Islands : four islands and each time a different culture and new landscapes. The paradisiacal places in New Ireland were superb. In New Britain we were particularly interested in the feography oif the island and Tarvurvur volcano, the history of the second world war in the Pacific and the impressive fire dances.
The remote Normanby Island was a wonderful opportunity for us to discover the primary forest with its rose woods and birds of paradise.
And then finally the Trobriand isles, were we stayed in a village and shared the life of the locals for a few days.
Everywhere, hospitality, thoughtfulness, generosity ! Dances, songs ! Everywhere the happiness of meeting and Exchanging with the local populations.
Thanks Philip for this extraordinary adventure into the world of the Papuans.
Many thanks to Nicole our guide, so competent and so attentive in the manner she told us about the culture of her country.

 

Annick COLLADO and Marc Lambert (AURIOL): Mountains, Indigenous arts and the beaches of Papua – October 2012

This trip was a real adventure that has remained embedded in our minds, It was full of emotions. We were amazed by the beauty and diversity of the countryside, delighted with the encounters we made, truly , spontaneous, and simple.

The villagers on the bus, on the tracks, are happy, generous, a joy for us. Although there were a few unexpected events, our guides did everything they could for us and we are very grateful to them, We were pampered, and our guides were always full of energy, joy and generosity.
We were also impressed, especially , by the, very beautiful houses of the spirits on the SEPIK River where there are extraordinary sculptures, which for some, are genuine works of art, then by the crocodile men. It was also very moving to be able to simply share moments in the lives of these people.
We will remember this for the rest of our lives, really. Thank you PHILIPPE.

 

 

Gullermo Farregut (Canada) : “festivals, Mountain body ornaments and the indigenous arts of Papua New Guinea, New Ireland” Seven 2012

my testimony would go like this:
“Philippe enabled me to discover a very diverse people , exciting and engaging, bright colors, full of traditions and talent.”

 

Martine Levy and Daniel Le Guillou (France) : “festivals, Mountain body ornaments and the indigenous arts of Papua New Guinea, New Ireland” Seven 2012

“We had been wanting to visit Papua for some time, the people, their traditions, their sculptures ; our meeting Philippe Gigliotti made this project, this dream, come true.
Philippe was our guide. His knowledge of the country, the quality of the relationships he has with the Papuans made this trip – Goroka show in New Ireland through the Highlands and the Sepik – an authentic “discovery”.
Logiostics are of course esential for a trip of this nature , but the acceptance of (many) unexpected events (No aircraft, impassable airstrip, a collapsed bridge on the one and only road, closed guesthouse , etc.) were also a feature of the trip. Papua welcomes travelers, not tourists !
We will retain especially the discovery of the Papuan lifestyles, their artistic expressions, both perennial and longlasting”

 

Michel and Edith Dubler (Switzerland) : Mountains and the Indigenous Arts of Papua , July 2012

“A trip to Papua ? A folly according to some friends. For us it was no question about it: we just had to go and explore this country, its population and share a little of their daily lives in the villages. We came home excited about all the discoveries we had made. Beautiful landscapes, among other things the ascent of the Tavurvur volcano , a very welcoming people, not to mention vivid ancestral customs such as dances, sculptures, etc. A jounrey we would recommend to all those seeking the out-of-the-ordinary because they will share a little bit of the lifestyles of the various Papuan tribes”.

 

François and Jacqueline Laplace (France)

“One day, a dream came true : It's a journey out of the ordinary to Papua New Guinea! This exceptional trip we owe to the Papuans themselves who are an extremely freindly people as well as Philippe Gigliotti our guide.
In this country that is said to be dangerous, Philippe enabled us to discover, safely, ethnic groups and their traditions. He shared with us his in-depth knowledge of the country and helped us actually meet with Papuans thanks to his network of friends. Moreover, We have found to be the ideal guide, adapting to the present moment depending on the circumstances and engaging in a form of solidarity and sustainable tourism.
We visited the region of the Sepik river with magnificent houses of spirits decorated with beautiful sculptures and then the region of the Highlands, land of the Hulis, wigged men, without forgetting Goroka festival. Following this, our journey took us to the village of Dahani at Foe who welcomed tourists for the first time and then Sugu, an isolated village in the Khaluli tribes' Bosavi region.
An unforgettable trip!”

 

Daniel Loescher (France)

“The first trip was exceptional. The respect that Philippe has for local populations has enabled him to make numerous contacts, all of whom efficient, patient, caring and eager to discover their beautiful country. Thanks to them, We are able to attend rare and wonderful events.
It was not possible not to return. This is what I did on two other occasions, continuing with Philippe my exceptional discoveries. I do not intend to leave it at that.
This is a real chance to meet all the people that Philippe has made friends with. His desire to share his knowledge of his multiple stays in Papua is a treasure not to be missed.
Logistically, The less comfortable stays always include a night in a nice hotel so that we may relax and get ready for new adventures. Note that during my three visits, No one was ever ill.”

 

Marie Davis (France)

“Papua New Guinea, It is an array of men, islands, ethnic groups, culture and festivals : travelling with an agency that promotes human contacts and relationships is a privilege. I went on one of these trips and, I went again because it was a way for me to discover a world that is both so different and so close . Papau New Guinea is a demanding country, requiring visitors to be prepared for unexpected events, surprises, and changes of plan ; Philippe and his team know the country, relational networks and their resources. This is a constantly reassuring in a country where there is still so much to discover…”

 

Michel Chasse (France)

“There is not one Papua but several Papuas... What does a Huli village houses surrounded by high walls hiding them from the outside world and where men stay separate / from women with a Kaluli village where all the houses overlook the village square ? Or even the Sepik ? Still another world to discover in New-Ireland.... Thanks to Philippe for those windows that you open using your knowledge of the country and the men... We will not forget this night of hunting the crocodile on the Sepik or Kaluli dances in the community home or....
Will we go back ? Of course, There's surely still a lot to see...”

 

 

 

 

 

 

[call title=”You have a question?” incipit=”Contact our team” phone=”04.58.00.13.26″]

equipeCréée en 2012, l’agence Voyages en Papouasie est le fruit du long travail de reconnaissance, de création de circuits et d’accompagnement mené par Philippe Gigliotti en Papouasie depuis 1997.
Philippe crée d’abord une structure locale, « réceptive », pour développer ses propres circuits et activités, organisant des voyages vendus par des tours operateurs français.
Rapidement, pour mieux répondre à des attentes de plus en plus variées, nous nous constituons un vaste réseau de partenaires, d’amis et de collaborateurs spécialisés : ornithologie, plongée, balnéaire…
Devant les demandes de plus en plus nombreuses de voyages « à la carte », nous décidons de créer en France une structure capable de prendre directement en charge ces parcours sur mesure.
Voyages en Papouasie reste une petite agence, principalement gérée par Fily et Philippe Gigliotti. Outre les deux créateurs, l’équipe de l’agence compte 4 personnes supplémentaires, dont 3 guides papous et une guide francophone. Sans compter bien sûr nos très nombreux partenaires locaux, guides, chauffeurs, hôteliers, porteurs…

Mentions legales

Gigliotti Services,
173, rue Carnot
38730 Virieu sur Bourbre
SARL au capital de 7500 euros
RC Vienne 539 328 708
Registre des agences de voyage : IM038120013
Assurance Hiscox : RCP0224467
Garantie APS
N° de TVA intracommunautaire : FR 43 539 328 708
Gérants: Fily et Philippe Gigliotti.

Créée par un français au coeur papou, Voyages en Papouasie propose une découverte de la Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée au plus près des papous, à travers des voyages où l’immersion en village est importante, où le voyageur plonge dans la culture de ses hôtes, où le voyage s’adapte à la vie locale.
Les premiers voyages, organisés sur la base de l’expérience personnelle de Philippe et de ses amitiés, se déroulaient presque entièrement sans hôtel, toujours au plus proche de la population, chez l’habitant. Tout en restant au maximum fidèle à cette philosophie, l’offre s’est bien sûr enrichie : les voyages sont devenus plus « confortables », mieux « huilés », plus variés également.
Mais le plus important reste pour nous de mettre en valeur le savoir traditionnel de nos hôtes, la richesse de leur culture et la chaleur humaine de la société papoue.
Notre philosophie : vous offrir de vraies rencontres, qui dépassent l’image exotique des papous, et leur permettre de bénéficier directement de notre venue.
Tous nos voyages s’articulent autour de lieux que nous connaissons, mais aussi autour de rencontres, d’amis, de coups de cœur, afin de vous proposer une découverte personnelle de la Papouasie, telle que nous l’aimons !

 

François et Jacqueline Laplace (Saint Herblain): D’île en île -Novembre 2012

Deuxième voyage en Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée à la découverte des iles : quatre iles et à chaque fois des cultures différentes et des paysages nouveaux. La nouvelle Irlande nous a charmés avec ses coins paradisiaques.La Nouvelle Bretagne nous a particulièrement intéressés par sa géographie avec le volcan Tarvurvur, l’histoire de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale dans le Pacifique et les impressionnantes danses du feu.
L’ile de Normanby bien isolée nous a réservé une belle découverte de la forêt primaire avec ses bois de rose et ses oiseaux de paradis.
Et enfin aux Trobriand, accueillis dans un village nous avons partagé la vie des habitants durant quelques jours.
Partout, l’hospitalité, la prévenance, la générosité ! Partout les danses, les chants ! Partout le bonheur de la rencontre et de l’échange.
Merci Philippe pour cette extraordinaire aventure au milieu des Papous.
Grand Merci à Nicole notre guide, si compétente et si attentive à nous faire connaître la culture de son pays.

 

Annick COLLADO et Marc LAGET (AURIOL): Montagnes, Art Premiers et Plages de Papouasie – Octobre 2012

Ce voyage a été une aventure humaine qui nous a beaucoup marqués, elle a été riche en émotions. Nous avons été émerveillés par la beauté et la diversité des paysages, heureux de nos rencontres, comme nous les aimons, spontanées, simples.

Les villageois dans les bus, sur les pistes, sont gais, généreux, un bonheur. Même si nous avons rencontrés des imprévus, nos guides se sont décarcassés pour nous et nous leur en sommes très reconnaissants, ils nous on chouchoutés, toujours pleins d’énergie, de bonne humeur et de générosité.
Nous avons été impressionnés aussi, notamment, par les très, très belles maisons des esprits sur le fleuve SEPIK dans lesquelles il y a d’extraordinaires sculptures, qui sont pour certaines, des oeuvres d’art, puis par les hommes crocodiles et très touchés d’avoir pu partager simplement des moments de la vie de ces gens.
Nous nous en souviendrons toute notre vie, vraiment. Un grand merci PHILIPPE.

 

 

Gullermo Farregut (Canada) : « festivals, parures des montagnes et arts premiers de Papouasie, Nouvelle Irlande » Sept 2012

mon témoignage serait le suivant:
« Philippe m’a permis de découvrir un peuple extrêmement diversifié , passionnant et attachant, éclatant de couleurs riche en traditions et très talentueux. »

 

Martine Lévy et Daniel Le Guillou (France) : « festivals, parures des montagnes et arts premiers de Papouasie, Nouvelle Irlande » Sept 2012

« Nous nourrissions depuis quelque temps déjà l’envie de découvrir la Papouasie, ses hommes, ses cultures, ses sculpteurs ; la rencontre avec Philippe Gigliotti a rendu ce projet, ce rêve, enfin possible.
Philippe fut notre guide. Sa connaissance du pays, la qualité des relations qu’il tisse avec les Papous ont fait de ce voyage – du show de Goroka à la Nouvelle Irlande en passant par les Highlands et le Sépik – une découverte « authentique ».
Si une préparation logistique du voyage était une nécessité, l’acceptation des (nombreux) imprévus (pas d’avion, piste d’atterrissage impraticable, pont écroulé sur l’unique route, guesthouse fermée, etc.) en a été une autre. La Papouasie accueille les voyageurs, pas les touristes !
Nous retiendrons surtout la découverte des modes de vie papous, leurs expressions artistiques, à la fois vivaces et ébranlés. »

 

Michel et Edith Dubler (Suisse) : Montagnes et art premier de Papouasie , juillet 2012

« Un voyage en Papouasie ? Une folie selon quelques amis. Pour nous ce fut une évidence: partir en couple pour connaître ce pays, sa population et partager un peu de leur quotidien dans les villages. Nous sommes revenus enthousiasmés par nos découvertes. Paysages magnifiques, entre autre l’ascension du volcan Tavurvur, un peuple si accueillant, aimable sans parler des coutumes ancestrales si vivantes telles que danses, sculptures, etc. A recommander à tous ceux qui recherche l’insolite car ils seront comblés par l’accueil authentique et partageront un peu le mode de vie des différentes tribus papoues ».

 

François et Jacqueline Laplace (France)

« Un rêve est devenu un jour une réalité : c’est un voyage hors du commun en Papouasie Nouvelle Guinée! Ce caractère exceptionnel nous le devons aux Papous eux-mêmes qui sont des gens extrêmement attachants ainsi qu’à Philippe Gigliotti notre accompagnateur.
Dans ce pays que l’on dit dangereux, Philippe nous a fait découvrir, en toute sécurité, les ethnies et leurs coutumes. Il nous a fait partager sa connaissance approfondie du pays et nous a facilité le contact avec les Papous grâce à son réseau d’amis. De plus, nous avons trouvé en lui l’accompagnateur idéal adaptant l’instant présent selon les circonstances et pratiquant une forme de tourisme solidaire et équitable.
Nous avons visité la région du Sépik avec ses magnifiques maisons des esprits décorées de belles sculptures et ensuite la région des Hautes Terres chez les Hulis, les hommes perruques, sans oublier le festival de Goroka. Puis, notre périple s’est enrichi avec une première immersion au village de Daga chez les Foe qui accueillaient pour la première fois des touristes et à Sugu, village isolé de la région de Bosavi chez les Khalulis.
Voyage inoubliable! »

 

Daniel Loescher (France)

« Le premier voyage fut exceptionnel. Le respect que Philippe a pour les populations locales lui a permis d’avoir de nombreux contacts, tous efficaces, patients, attentionnés et enthousiastes pour nous faire découvrir leur beau pays. Grâce à eux, il nous est permis d’assister à des évènements rares et merveilleux.
Il n’était pas possible de ne pas y revenir. C’est ce que j’ai fait à deux autres reprises, poursuivant avec Philippe mes découvertes tout aussi exceptionnelles. Je ne compte pas en rester là.
C’est une réelle chance de rencontrer tous ceux que Philippe a su se faire comme amis. Son désir de faire partager le fruit de ses multiples séjours en Papouasie est un trésor à ne pas manquer.
Sur le plan logistique, les séjours un peu moins confortables sont toujours ponctués d’une nuit dans un bel hôtel qui nous permet de repartir en forme pour de nouvelles aventures. À noter encore que pendant mes trois séjours, personne n’a été malade. »

 

Marie Defontaine (France)

« La Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée, c’est une multitude d’hommes, d’îles, d’ethnies, de cultures et de fêtes : y voyager avec une agence qui privilégie le contact humain et la relation est un privilège. J’y suis allée et du coup, j’y suis retournée parce que soutenue dans mes élans de découverte d’un monde si différent et si proche à la fois. La PNG est exigeante, elle qui oblige aux imprévus, aux surprises, aux revirements ; Philippe et son équipe connaissent le terrain, les réseaux relationnels et leurs ressources. C’est une sécurité constante que de ne pas craindre les aléas d’un pays où il y a encore tant à découvrir… »

 

Michel Chasse (France)

« Il n’y a pas une Papouasie mais des Papouasies… Quoi de commun entre un village Huli aux maisons entourées de hauts murs les cachant à la vue de l’extérieur et où la séparation hommes / femmes est extrême et un village Kaluli où toutes les maisons ouvrent sur la place commune ? Ou encore le Sepik ? Encore un autre monde à découvrir en Nouvelle-Irlande….. Merci à Philippe pour ces fenêtres que tu nous ouvres grâce à ta connaissance du pays et des hommes… Nous n’oublierons pas cette nuit de chasse au crocodile sur le Sepik ou les danses Kaluli dans la maison commune ou encore…..
On repart ? Bien sûr, il y a sûrement tant à voir encore…. »

 

 

 

 

 

 

[call title= »Vous avez une question? » incipit= »Contactez directement notre équipe » phone= »04.58.00.13.26″]