Papouasie-19

MASK FESTIVAL OF RABAUL - KAPO INITIATION CEREMONY - MASKS SECRETS OF THE GULF

The 08 to 25 July 2019 / 18days /.From 6400 € :

COMPLETE for 2019

    • Level of difficulty: Way to easy
    • Highlights: Immersion, discovery of forgotten villages, Festival, Adventure, culture
  • Support: Companion bilingual french/English/pidgin

Click here to request a reservation

Warning : Rates valid for the dates indicated.If these dates do not suit you, feel free to browse the various tabs in our site or contact us for an overview of the possibilities offered !
PRESENTATION OF THE TRIP

This journey of exploration in search of the most beautiful masks of Papua begins at Rabaul, to attend the festival of masks that allows to discover the incredible variety of dances and adornments of the new Britain with including the dances of the fire of the Baining tribe or the dukduk the Tolai, but also, the masks Sulka.

Following this, the second part of the trip offers the unique opportunity to explore the West coast of the island of new Britain, a region away from travelers and modernity. The month of June, July and August, are those ceremonies and initiations. A great opportunity to see rare and spectacular rituals including the members of the group will be the privileged guests ! The journey leads us to the remote island of Kapo where held a ceremony of circumcision. We will attend the preparatory steps, at the feast and dances that surround this event of utmost importance.

Following this, in a second time, Let's go to the discovery of the little-known but spectacular masks of ethnic groups that inhabit the Gulf Province, West of Port Moresby, the capital. It is in this region rich of cultural diversity without equal and yet totally unexplored will end our discoveries.

THE PROGRAM

Day 1 (Monday 8 July 2019) : SINGAPORE TO PORT MORESBY WITH AIR NIUGINI PX293 FLIGHT TO 20.25
Arrive in Singapore at least four hours prior to departure.
We can also take care of the flight from the France if you wish.

Day 2 (Tuesday 9 July) : PORT MORESBY AT RABAUL
Arrival early in the morning at Port Moresby airport, capital of Papua New Guinea, and registration for the next flight, towards Rabaul. In the morning, departure to Kokopo, the new capital which replaces Rabaul, and installation in the city at Kokopo village Resort. This hotel is comfortable and has a beach, allowing you to good rest after this long trip.
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 3 (Wednesday 10 July) : OPENING OF THE FESTIVAL OF RABAUL – KINAVAI
Very early, worms 4 in the morning, the festival of the masks of Rabaul opens by the Kinavai, one of the most impressive rituals of the Tolai society. At sunrise of the day, the duk - duk (of the spirits incarnated by impressive masks covered with leaves) dancing on the dugouts before joining the beach to open the festival. In the morning begins, Rabaul festival, dedicated to the cultures of the islands of the Bismarck Archipelago : a unique opportunity to discover the masks and dances of many native groups from across the region (Bainings, Tolais, Kairak...). Guests to discover the Tavurvur volcano and the city of Rabaul.
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 4 (Thursday 11 July) : FESTIVAL OF RABAUL
The second day of the festival of Rabaul allows you to discover all the variety of masks and dances of the region. You take advantage of this day to Rabaul.
Baining fire dance in the evening.
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 5 (Friday 12 July) : TO KIMBE
Very early departure by plane to Kimbe. Installation in hotel and preparation of your expedition to Cape Gloucester. Here again you can use your free time to enjoy the Ocean. This is also your last comfortable accommodation for several days !
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 6 (Saturday 13 July) : DEPARTURE FOR THE ISLAND OF KAPO
First, it takes an hour thirty truck to reach the beach of departure of our expedition, then embark on a motor boat to reach the isolated island of Kapo (3 hours of navigation). Arrival in the afternoon, installation and discovery of the village. The small island has beautiful boxes of perched at initiation 5 or 6 meters above the ground and many carved poles that reflect the intense ritual activity different clans of the community.
Accommodation : Summary cell in village guesthouse. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 7 (Sunday 14 July) : TO THE ISLAND OF TAMUNIAI
In the morning, you embark on 5 navigating to Tamuniai hours, a small charming island in the air of tropical paradise with sandy beaches. On the way, If the Papuans cross a school of fish, they will no doubt throw a line in the evening everyone can taste the local gastronomy. The afternoon is dedicated to the discovery of the traditional activities of the community (tobacco cultivation, copra...).
Accommodation : Summary guesthouse in village - meal : D-D-PD

Day 8 (Monday 15 July) : DISCOVERIES AROUND TAMUNIAI
Day past goshawks of the island, on the surrounding coral reefs and discovering the different activities of the inhabitants of the island : tobacco cultivation, Gardens, Collections, etc...
Accommodation : Summary guesthouse in village - meal : D-D-PD

Day 9 (Tuesday 16 July) : BACK TO KAPO WITH STEPS ON AN ISLAND
Exploration of the Islands on the way back to Kapo, where to begin the initiation ceremonies.
Accommodation : Summary guesthouse in village - meal : D-D-PD

Day 10 (Wednesday 17 July) : ON THE ISLAND OF KAPO INITIATION CEREMONY
Today, the community celebrates the circumcision of young boys in and out of his wits. The whole village is abuzz : preparing the ornaments, traditional money exchange (necklaces of shells) until finally large masks out of the men's House to dance on the village square.
Throughout the day, the village is agog to prepare the ceremony of circumcision on the following day. Today, You can attend one sing-sing, a traditional dance, observe the preparation of a mumu, a feast community and especially to a day of celebration in a village at the end of the world.
Accommodation : Summary guesthouse in village - meal : D-D-PD

Day 11 (Thursday 18 July) : BACK TO KIMBE
Early in the morning, children are circumcised. As soon as the ceremony ended, you leave the village of Kapo to join Kimbe by boat and then by car. The end of the afternoon will be devoted to rest in your hotel.
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD.

Day 12 (Friday 19 July) : TO PORT MORESBY
Return to Port Moresby in the day and preparation of the expedition the next day to the Gulf province.
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD.

Day 13 (Saturday 20 July) : TO THE GULF - TOARE VILLAGE
Morning departure to reach the village of Toare 4 hours to drive from the capital, in the Gulf Province. We settle on the edge of a beautiful beach, Homestay because there is no hotel in this village where tourists never come. It is here that we will discover different masks during a day of dances on the beach. The show is beautiful, in a dream setting.
Accommodation : Summary homestay - meal : D-D-PD

Day 14 (Sunday 21 July) : GULF FIRST VILLAGE FESTIVAL
Day of festival of mask of the Western Gulf region, with at least five or six different masks. The show on the beach is a beauty !
We sleep here again in this village by the sea.
Accommodation : Summary homestay - meal : D-D-PD

Day 15 (Monday 22 July) : GULF – MOVEAVE
We leave early in the morning, to get to the village of Moveave, along a river. Upon arrival,, We will discover a new lifestyle, but also a different atmosphere. We are located on a peninsula, between river and sea. Visit this great village, full of history.

Accommodation : summary in village homestay. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 16 (Tuesday 23 July) : GULF - MOVEAVE FESTIVAL
Great day of festival, with all the masks and dancers from the village coming parade and parade. A unique chance to experience the incredible diversity and creativity, as well as the strength of the traditions, in this region.
We spend a second night in this village.
Accommodation : summary in village homestay. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 17 (Wednesday 24 July) : PORT MORESBY
Back to Port Moresby in the day, in 3 hours drive. Installation in a comfortable hotel and rest after these days in the village.
Accommodation : Comfortable hotel. Meals : D-D-PD

Day 18 (Thursday 25 July) : TO SINGAPORE
Visits to the capital with its many new buildings, its completely renovated Museum and many visits, then departure to 14.20 to Singapore you can go back to Europe in the evening (arrival in Singapore at 7:00 pm).

End of our services. Meals : PD

It is important to know that this trip needs to be in good physical condition.

Price per adult :

Base 4 Persons : 8420 EUR / participant

Base 5 Persons : 7550 EUR / participant

Base 6 Persons : 6900 EUR / participant

Base 7 Persons : 6600 EUR / participant

Base 8 Persons : 6400 EUR / participant

These prices include :

– All air transfers from Singapore (flight international and domestic)

All land transfers as mentioned in the program.

-Private vehicles for all transport except the aircraft.

– The services of French-speaking guide for Port Moresby.

-Accommodation in double room accommodation mentioned in the program.

-Our 24 h/24 on-site support.

-Meals as specified in the program (PD = breakfast / D = lunch / D = dinner).

These prices do not include :

-International flights to Singapore. We can make reservations for you if you want.

-The cost of visas (40 Euro area).

-Assistance repatriation insurance highly recommended.

-Drinks and personal expenses

-Any tips.

Under construction!

THE PHOTO GALLERY

MASK FESTIVAL DE RABAUL – CÉRÉMONIE D’INITIATION DE KAPO – MASQUES SECRETS DU GULF

Du 06 au 23 juillet 2020 / 18jours/ A partir de 6800 € :

  • Accompagnement: Accompagnateur bilingue français/anglais/pidgin
  • Vols, repas, hébergement compris depuis et vers Singapour
  • Niveau de difficulté: Moyen à Facile
  • Points forts: Immersion, découverte de villages oubliés, Festival, Aventure, culture

Cliquez ici pour une demande de réservation

Attention : tarifs valables pour les dates indiquées.Si ces dates ne vous conviennent pas, n’hésitez pas à naviguer sur les différents onglets de notre site ou à nous contacter pour avoir un aperçu des possibilités offertes !
PRESENTATION DU VOYAGE

Ce voyage d’exploration à la recherche des plus beaux masques de Papouasie débute à Rabaul, pour assister au grand festival des masques qui permet de découvrir l’incroyable variété des danses et des parures de la Nouvelle Bretagne avec notamment les danses du feu de la tribu Baining ou les dukduk des Tolaï, mais aussi les masques Sulka.

Puis, la deuxième partie du voyage offre l’occasion unique d’explorer la côte ouest de l’île de Nouvelle Bretagne, une région à l’écart des voyageurs et de la modernité. Les mois de juin, juillet et août, sont ceux des cérémonies et des initiations. Une formidable opportunité d’assister à des rituels rarissimes et spectaculaires dont les membres du groupe seront les invités privilégiés ! Le périple nous mène à l’île reculée de Kapo où aura lieu une cérémonie de circoncision. Nous assisterons aux étapes préparatoires, au festin et aux danses qui entourent cet événement de toute première importance.

Nous partons enfin, à la découverte des méconnus mais spectaculaires masques des ethnies qui peuplent la Province du Gulf, à l’ouest de Port Moresby, la capitale. C’est dans cette région riche d’une diversité culturelle sans égale et pourtant totalement inexplorée que se termineront nos découvertes.

LE PROGRAMME

Jour 1 (lundi 6 juillet 2020) : DE SINGAPOUR VERS PORT MORESBY AVEC LE VOL AIR NIUGINI PX293 À 20.25
Prévoir d’arriver à Singapour au moins quatre heures avant.
Nous pouvons également nous occuper du vol à partir de la France si vous le souhaitez.

Jour 2 (mardi 7 juillet) : DE PORT MORESBY À RABAUL
DE PORT MORESBY À RABAUL
Arrivée tôt le matin à l’aéroport de Port Moresby, capitale de Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée, et enregistrement pour le prochain vol, vers Rabaul. Dans la matinée, départ pour Kokopo, la nouvelle capitale qui remplace Rabaul, et installation en ville au Kokopo village Resort. Cet hôtel est confortable et possède une plage, ce qui vous permettra de bien vous reposer après ce long voyage.
Transfert: AIR NIUGINI POMRAB / Bus
Hôtel confortable. Rapopo Resort
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 3 (mercredi 8 juillet) : OUVERTURE DU FESTIVAL DE RABAUL – KINAVAI
Très tôt, vers 4 heures du matin, le festival des masques de Rabaul s’ouvre par le Kinavaï, l’un des rituels les plus impressionnants de la société Tolaï. Au lever du jour, des duk-duk (des esprits incarnés par d’impressionnants masques couverts de feuilles) dansent sur des pirogues avant de rejoindre la plage pour ouvrir le festival. Dans la matinée débute, le festival de Rabaul, dédié aux cultures des îles de l’archipel Bismarck : une occasion unique de découvrir les masques et les danses des nombreux groupes originaires de toute la région (Bainings, Tolaïs, Kairak…). Vous en profiterez également pour découvrir le volcan Tavurvur et la ville de Rabaul.
Transfert: Bus
Hôtel confortable: Rapopo Resort
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 4 (jeudi 9 juillet) : FESTIVAL DE RABAUL
Le deuxième jour du festival de Rabaul permet de découvrir toute la variété des masques et danses de la région. Vous profitez de cette journée entière à Rabaul.
Danses du feu Baining privées dans la soirée.
Transfert: bus
Hôtel confortable: Rapopo Resort
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 5 (vendredi 10 juillet) : Expédition vers CAP Gloucester
Départ très matinal en avion vers Kimbe. Installation en hôtel et préparation de votre expédition vers le Cap Gloucester. Là encore vous pouvez utiliser votre temps libre pour profiter de l’Océan. C’est également votre dernier hébergement confortable avant plusieurs jours !
transfert: PNG AIR RABHKN
Hôtel confortable: Walindi Resort
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 6 (samedi 11 juillet) : DÉPART POUR L’ÎLE DE KAPO

Il faut d’abord une heure trente de camion pour rejoindre la plage de départ de notre expédition, puis vous embarquez dans un bateau à moteur pour rejoindre l’île isolée de Kapo (3 heures de navigation). Arrivée en milieu d’après-midi, installation et découverte de cette île-village où on fabrique de manière intensive de la monnaie coquillage.
Nuit en Guesthouse sommaire à kapo
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 7 (dimanche 12 juillet) : COMMUNAUTÉ DE L’ÎLE DE TAMUNIAÏ
Le matin, vous embarquez pour 5 heures de navigation jusqu’à Tamuniaï, une petite île charmante aux airs de paradis tropical avec ses plages de sable fin. En chemin, si les Papous croisent un banc de poissons, ils jetteront sans aucun doute une ligne pour que le soir venu chacun puisse goûter la gastronomie locale. L’après-midi est consacré à la découverte des activités traditionnelles de la communauté (culture du tabac, copra…).
Transfert: Bus / bateau
Nuit en Guesthouse sommaire à kapo
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 8 (lundi 13 juillet) : DECOUVERTES AUTOUR DE TAMUNIAÏ
Journée passée autours de l’île, sur les récifs de coraux environnants et en découvrant les différentes activités des habitants de l’île : culture du tabac, jardins, collectes, etc…
Nuit en Guesthouse sommaire à kapo
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 9 (mardi 14 juillet) : RETOUR VERS KAPO AVEC ETAPES SUR UNE ILE
Exploration des îles sur le chemin du retour vers Kapo, où commencent les cérémonies d’initiation.
Nuit en Guesthouse sommaire à kapo
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 10 (mercredi 15 juillet) : CÉRÉMONIE D’INITIATION SUR L’ÎLE DE KAPO
Aujourd’hui, la communauté fête la circoncision des jeunes garçons et la sortie de ses esprits. Tout le village est en effervescence : on prépare les parures, échange de l’argent traditionnel (des colliers de coquillages) jusqu’à ce qu’enfin les grands masques sortent de la maison des hommes pour danser sur la place du village.
Durant toute la journée, le village est en émoi pour préparer la cérémonie de circoncision prévue le lendemain. Aujourd’hui, vous pourrez assister à un sing-sing, une danse traditionnelle, observer la préparation d’un mumu, un festin communautaire et surtout à une journée de fête dans un village au bout du monde.
Nuit en Guesthouse sommaire à kapo
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 11 (jeudi 16 juillet) : RETOUR À KIMBE
Tôt le matin, les enfants sont circoncis. Dès la cérémonie terminée, vous quittez le village de Kapo pour rejoindre Kimbe en bateau puis en voiture. La fin d’après-midi sera consacrée au repos dans votre hôtel.
Transfert: Bateau / Bus
Hôtel confortable: Walindi Resort
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 12 (vendredi 17 juillet) : VERS PORT MORESBY
Retour à Port Moresby dans la journée et préparation de l’expédition du lendemain vers la province du Gulf.
Transfert: Air Niugini HKNPOM / bus
Hotel confortable: Sanctuary hotel
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 13 (samedi 18 juillet) : VERS LE GULF – VILLAGE DE TOARE
Départ matinal pour rejoindre le village de Toare 4heures de route de la capitale, dans la Province du Gulf. Nous nous installons au bord d’une magnifique plage, chez l’habitant car il n’y a pas de guesthouse dans ce village où les touristes ne viennent jamais. C’est ici que nous découvrirons différents masques lors d’une journée de danses au bord de la plage. Le spectacle est magnifique, dans un décor de rêve.
Transfert: Bus
Nuit chez l’habitant sommaire en village Taoré
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 14 (dimanche 19 juillet) : GULF FESTIVAL – TOARÉ
Journée de festival de masque de la région du Gulf de l’Ouest, avec au moins cinq ou six masques différents. Le spectacle sur la plage est de toute beauté !
Nous dormons là encore dans ce village en bord de mer.
Hébergement: Nuit chez l’habitant sommaire en village Taoré
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 15 (lundi 20 juillet) : GULF – MOVEAVE

Nous partons tôt le matin, pour nous rendre dans le village de Moveave, le long d’un fleuve. Là, nous pourrons découvrir un nouveau style de vie, mais aussi une autre atmosphère. Nous sommes situés sur une presqu’île, entre rivière et mer. Visite de ce grand village, plein d’histoire. Une chance unique de découvrir l’incroyable diversité et créativité, ainsi que la force des traditions, dans cette région.
Retour vers Toaré pour la nuit
Nuit chez l’habitant sommaire en village Taoré
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 16 (mardi 21 juillet) : GULF – KARAMA
Visite et activité dans le village de KARAMA.
Retour à Toaré pour la nuit
Nuit chez l’habitant sommaire en village Taoré
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 17 (mercredi 22 juillet) : PORT MORESBY
Retour vers Port Moresby dans la journée, en 3 heures de route. Installation dans un hôtel confortable et repos après ces journées en village.
Transfert: Bus
Hotel Confortable: Sanctuary Hotel
Repas: PD/D/D

Jour 18 (jeudi 23 juillet) : VERS SINGAPORE
Visites de la capitale avec ses nombreux nouveaux bâtiments, son musée entièrement rénové et de nombreuses visites, puis départ à 14.20 vers Singapour d’où vous pouvez repartir vers l’Europe dans la soirée (arrivée à Singapour à 19h00).
Transfert: Air Niugini POMSIN

Fin de nos services. Repas : PD

Il est important de savoir que ce séjour nécessite d’être en bonne condition physique.

Prix par adulte :

Base 4 pax : 8800 euros / participant

Base 5 pax : 7950 euros / participant

Base 6 pax : 7300 euros / participant

Base 7 pax : 7000 euros / participant

Base 8/9 pax : 6800 euros / participant

Ces prix comprennent :

– Tous les aériens depuis Singapour soit cinq vols

– Tous les transferts terrestres tels que mentionnés, bus, bateau

– Des véhicules privés ou hôteliers pour tous les transports hormis l’avion.

– Les services d’un accompagnateur francophone depuis Port Moresby

– L’hébergement en chambre double dans les hébergements mentionnés. Possibilité single.

– Notre assistance sur place 24h/24.

– Les repas tels que précisés dans le programme (PD = Petit-déjeuner / D = Déjeuner / D = dîner).

– les entrées aux festivals et visites

Ces prix ne comprennent pas :

– Les vols internationaux jusqu’à Singapour. Nous pouvons effectuer les réservations pour vous si vous le souhaitez.

– Les frais de visas (40 Euros environs).

– L’assistance rapatriement/assurance fortement conseillée.

– Les boissons et dépenses personnelles

– Les pourboires éventuels.

En cours de construction!

LA GALERIE PHOTOS